There was a big stir in the LinkedIn world Thursday; we received calls from friends and clients about an unusual number of invitations in their LinkedIn inbox from people whose names were in all caps. In looking at the profiles, we discovered that they are nearly identical, right down to college degree, or lack thereof… and groups represented by each profile. Thanks to Rob Hayes at Cynocast for the initial heads up!
The company “Social Media Magic” seemingly put up dozens of profiles of individuals with no pictures, with identical profiles, different colleges and no degree, all showing a concentration in marketing and each have different groups. Without looking at everyone, the only profile that seems to have a photo is that of John Souza, and he actually has two—profiles that is. John is listed as CEO or Chief Strategist at Vertical Partners and other companies. There is also no company profile on LinkedIn. One would think that a company touting to provide expert social media services for others, they’d have their own presence up to par.
Brent Jordan did a little digging and learned Souza has at least 269 domain names including socialmediamagic.com, verticalpartners.com, and dedicatedrep.com. Looking at his websites, we’ll grant that he is evidently an Internet Marketing Wiz.
As we continued to dig, we learned that Souza was the only member of the Toplinked.com Group, which is a network building group dedicated to helping people build opportunities and resources. It appears that he, or someone representing him, downloaded the weekly list and used it to send invitations from all of the company’s profiles. This is a Toplinked.com service agreement violation and he was immediately banned from the group and the service. He made a huge mistake by not understanding how the program works, or he might not have been caught so fast. Because he didn’t follow the rules or the standard protocol, his company profiles represent the majority of the invitations that showed up on Thursday in the inboxes of people who use Toplinked.com.
- Screen shot of suspicious invitations from Social Media Magic
So, we dug a bit further, asking LinkedIn for assistance. It takes a while for them to respond, so we have delayed our own response via blog. We also began tweeting about the issue and had great feedback from people like @DenverPete, who was on a webinar by Social Media Magic while this was going down. They offered a free webinar to describe how they can provide “Managed Services” for people. If they were to build my social media presence like they built their own, I don’t want or need their service!
Brent Jordan described the issue well at lunch on Friday… compare a quality G2 Pilot pen to a store brand knock-off. They look almost identical until you use the pens and compare the results. Then the difference becomes clear and you either use the better quality pen, paying a little more for the difference, or you just put up with the poor quality.
Until the investigation is complete and we have an idea if these guys are legitimate connections, we have instructed our Managed Services team to ignore the invitations and recommended that our friends and LinkedInsiders do the same. The bottom line is that it looks as if these profiles are not for real people. Avoid them.

Posted by Lori Ruff
Posted by Mike O'Neil
Posted by Mike O'Neil